Es privalumai ir trūkumai
5 (100%) 1 vote

Es privalumai ir trūkumai


1. The short history of European union 2

2. EU – Lithuania relationship 3

3. The advantages of EU 4

4. The disadvantages of EU 5

5. Literature 7

6. Vocabulary 8


European integration has delivered half a century of stability,

peace and economic prosperity. It has helped to raise standards of living,

built and internal market, launched the euro and strengthened the Union’s

voice in the world.

The European Union (EU) was set up after the 2nd World War. The

process of European integration was launched on 9 May 1950 when France

officially proposed to create “the first concrete foundation of a European

federation “. Six countries (Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxemburg and

Netherlands) joined from the very beginning. T

Today, after four waves of accessions (1973: Denmark, Ireland and the

United Kingdom; 1981: Greece; 1986:Spain and Portugal; 1995: Austria,

Finland and Sweden) the EU has 15 Member States and is preparing for the

accession of 13 eastern and southern European countries. In the nearest

future we hope Lithuania will join this union, too.

The EU is based on the rule of law and democracy. It is neither a

new State replacing existing ones nor it is comparable to other

international organizations. Its Member States delegate sovereignty to

common institutions representing the interests of the Union as a whole on

questions of joint interest. All decisions and procedures are derived from

the basic treaties ratified by the Member States.

Principle objectives of the Union are:

• Establish European citizenship (Fundamental rights; Freedom of

movement; Civil and political rights);

• Ensure freedom, security and justice (Cooperation in the field

of Justice and Home Affairs);

• Promote economic and social progress (Single market; Euro, the

common currency; Job creation; Regional development;

Environmental protection);

• Assert Europe’s role in the world (Common foreign and security;

The EU in the world).

The EU is run by five institutions, each playing a specific role:

• European Parliament (elected by the peoples of the Member


• Council of the Union (composed of the governments of the Member


• European Commission (driving force and executive body)

• Court of Justice (compliance with the law);

• Court of Auditors (sound and lawful management of EU budget).


Official relationship and cooperation between Lithuania and European

Community started on 27 August 1991 when the European Community decided to

recognize the independence of Lithuania.

On 11 May 1992, Lithuania and the European Community signed the

Agreement on Trade and Commercial and Economic Cooperation, which came into

force on 1 February 1993, and adopted the Declaration on a Political

Dialogue between EC and the Republic of Lithuania.

On 21 – 22 June 1993, the European Summit Meeting was held in

Copenhagen where the EC for the first time clearly formulated its position

on the membership of the Central and East European countries in the EU.

However, this term was applied to the countries, which had signed Europe

Agreements. The Baltic States were mentioned in a separate paragraph. There

the European Commission was obligated to present proposals on the

development of trade agreements with the Baltic States that were in effect

at that time into Free Trade Agreements.

On 18 July 1994, a Free Trade Agreement between the EU and Lithuania

was signed. At the end of the same year, i.e. on 16 December 1994,

negotiations on the Europe Agreement started. The said negotiations came to

an end in April. The Europe Agreement was signed on 12 June 1995.

On 8 December 1995, the Government of the Republic of Lithuania

submitted an official membership application. In the Opinion of the

Commission announced in July 1995 a conclusion was drawn that the current

level of readiness for the EU membership allowed to maintain that in five

years only the following five associate Central and East European countries

would be ready for the EU membership: the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary,

Poland and Slovenia.

Lithuania was invited to start negotiations in 1999 together with

other countries belonging to the so–called Group Two of the Candidate

Countries. Such a decision was recommended by the European Commission in

Šiuo metu Jūs matote 30% šio straipsnio.
Matomi 653 žodžiai iš 2164 žodžių.
Peržiūrėkite iki 100 straipsnių per 24 val. Pasirinkite apmokėjimo būdą:
El. bankininkyste - 1,45 Eur.
Įveskite savo el. paštą (juo išsiųsime atrakinimo kodą) ir spauskite Tęsti.
SMS žinute - 2,90 Eur.
Siųskite sms numeriu 1337 su tekstu INFO MEDIA ir įveskite gautą atrakinimo kodą.
Turite atrakinimo kodą?
Po mokėjimo iškart gausite atrakinimo kodą, kurį įveskite į laukelį žemiau:
Kodas suteikia galimybę atrakinti iki 100 straispnių svetainėje ir galioja 24 val.